Over the past few weeks I have been working extensively with iPads. A lot of times I will be conducting a workshop and will put up a QR (quick response) Code for participants to scan. These QR codes may contain my contact information, links to websites, or allow participants to take a poll. There are tons of different ways to use QR Codes in the classroom. Here is a link to just a few of the ideas of how to use QR Codes in your classroom.

During my presentations, a number of participants ask me how I created my codes. Finding a code creator site is pretty easy, but there are a few that I use  regularly.

Google Shortner is a great tool for shortening long website urls and it produces a QR Code for those shortened links. Along with providing shortened urls and QR Codes, Google Shortner can give you information on the number of visitors you have had to your links and will keep a record of all your shortened codes.

The other code creator I use is called QR Stuff.  This creator allows me to not only create a QR Code for a website, but gives me many different options such as vcards for creating contact information and allows users to create calendar events.  I also love that this site allows you to create a QR Code in color.

I would love to hear how you are using QR Codes in your classroom.  Please feel free to add a comment in the comment section.

